Chairman of P&G, A. G. Lafley, and President of MIT, Dr. Susan Hockfield, Awarded Prestigious Edison Achievement Award™

Chairman of P&G, A. G. Lafley, and President of MIT, Dr. Susan Hockfield, Awarded Prestigious Edison Achievement Award™

Annual Award Recognizes Leaders That Have Made Significant & Lasting Contributions to Innovation, Marketing and Human-Centered Design Throughout Their Careers

Chicago, IL (PRWEB) November 16, 2009

The Edison Awards, recognized as one of America's leading innovation awards, today announced A. G. Lafley, the Chairman of Procter and Gamble (P&G), and Dr. Susan Hockfield, President of Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), will be awarded the prestigious Edison Achievement Award™ on April 29, 2010 at The Capitale in New York City. The annual Award honors leaders who have displayed the persistence, collaboration, and creativity necessary to advance successful innovation in their respective organizations.

“Being recognized with the Edison Achievement Award is an honor and an inspiration,” said Mr. Lafley. “It’s an inspiration because I love innovation—trying to find better brands, better products, and better services, that in a small, but important way, make everyday life a little bit better for people and their families around the world.”

"The Edison Achievement Award call out the enormous value of discovery and innovation, and it is a great honor to have been chosen as a recipient. At MIT, our driving purpose is to generate the transformative innovations and innovators that will improve human life around the globe -- a mission

Perfectly in tune with the animating spirit of the Edison Awards,” said Dr. Hockfield.

A sample of past award winners who have made similar significant and lasting contributions to innovation, marketing and human-centered design include:

 David Kelley, Founder and Chairman IDEO  Dr. Susan Desmond Hellmann, President New Product Development Genentech  Ted Turner, Vice Chairman Time Warner  Reuben Mark, Chairman and CEO Colgate-Palmolive  Martha Stewart, Chairman Martha Stewart Living Omnimedia, LLC.  J. W. Marriott Jr. Chairman and CEO Marriott International  Nolan Archibald, Chairman and CEO Black and Decker  Arthur Martinez, Chairman and CEO Sears, Roebuck and Company

“We’re pleased to bestow this year’s Edison Achievement Award to A. G. Lafley and Dr. Susan Hockfield for their vision, leadership and perseverance in not only keeping the spirit of research and innovation alive in America, but also by inspiring others to do the same,” said Frank Bonafilia, Managing Director of the Edison Awards.

In addition, the Edison Awards are currently accepting nominations now through December 11, 2009. For more information or to view the nomination form, visit www. EdisonAwards. com.

About A. G. Lafley:

A. G. Lafley, who served as P&G’s CEO from 2000 to 2009, is Chairman of the Company’s Board of Directors. Lafley led the transformation of P&G during the nine years he served as CEO. He focused the Company on core businesses and brands, faster-growing and higher-margin beauty, grooming and health care businesses, and winning in developing markets. He made P&G a more consumer-driven and externally focused company. And, he helped shape a more diverse, open and collaborative culture in which innovation is the primary driver of business and financial growth. To read more of A. G’s biography, click here [http://phx. corporate-ir. net/External. File? item=UGFyZW50SUQ9OTQzOHxDaGlsZElEPS0xfFR5cGU9Mw==&t=1 (http://phx. corporate-ir. net/External. File? item=UGFyZW50SUQ9OTQzOHxDaGlsZElEPS0xfFR5cGU9Mw==&t=1)].

About Dr. Susan Hockfield:

Dr. Susan Hockfield has served as the sixteenth president of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology since December 2004. A strong advocate of the vital role that science, technology, and the research university play in the world, she believes that MIT can best advance its historic mission of teaching, research, and service by providing robust and sustained support for the ideas and energies of its faculty and students.

A noted neuroscientist whose research has focused on the development of the brain, Dr. Hockfield is the first life scientist to lead MIT and holds a faculty appointment as professor of neuroscience in the Institute's Department of Brain and Cognitive Sciences. To read more of Susan’s biography, click here [http://web. mit. edu/hockfield/biography. html (http://web. mit. edu/hockfield/biography. html)].

About The Edison Awards:

The Edison Awards recognize the persistence and excellence Thomas Edison himself personified: qualities which have allowed America to remain at the forefront of innovation, creativity, and ingenuity in the global economy. For more information about The Edison Awards, visit www. EdisonAwards. com.

The Thomas Edison Papers is the Guarantor of the Edison Awards. As a globally recognized research network dedicated to the study of innovation and its application in the 21st century, we are uniquely positioned to authenticate the innovative spirit of the Edison Awards, which highlight Edison’s innovation model. This model can serve as a platform to engage and inspire tomorrow’s inventors, and modern-day innovators. For more information on The Edison Papers, visit http://edison. rutgers. edu (http://edison. rutgers. edu)


You have read this article health with the title Chairman of P&G, A. G. Lafley, and President of MIT, Dr. Susan Hockfield, Awarded Prestigious Edison Achievement Award™. You can bookmark this page URL Thanks!